What are you playing this weekend? Here’s what we’re clicking on! But you, dearest reader, what are you playing? This weekend I will probably be playing Sea Of Thieves because I told my younger brother about it, and now he’s really really into it. He keeps badgering me about it. I couldn’t play last night because I had a killer headache, and he just replied, “The seas don’t have time for your weakness.” I technically don’t work for RPS anymore, but Alice O made me do one of these. Sure, I couldn’t be fired, but I’ll still be seeing Alice O and the rest of the RPS gang at the Christmas party and I don’t want them to blank me like they threatened they would. In which case: I’m going to be giving the Mars Horizon beta a go this weekend and playing lots of Animal Crossing and The Sims 4. I’ll also be catching up with Modern Family and reading, probably. I’ve started XCOM: Chimera Squad and yep, still enjoying breaching and clearing. I am looking forward to that late-game XCOM thing of having soldiers so stacked with gear and abilities that they can pull off great foolishness. I didn’t recruit the gunslinging Blueblood when his dossier first passed my desk and I hope he comes back around, I do like pistols popping off all over. I’ve always loved the big, burly boys and girls of Gears slamming their shoulders into waist-high walls, popping up occasionally to shoot a manky-looking monster in the distance, so Gears Tactics is definitely on the list. Plus, it’s meant to be quite a good game, so that’s nice. The fact it’s on Game Pass makes it even sweeter. I recently caved and rebought Minecraft so I could play with fellow lockdown friends who have consoles. They’re not massive gamers in general, they’ve only just found the Ender Portal, but relearning Minecraft has been an interesting experience. There are things even they cannot teach me, so maybe I’ll give Ollie’s guides a more in-depth read. One thing I noticed is that they have a lot of tamed animals locked behind fences. I might convert it into a zoo. Also, there’s a weird groaning sound whenever I walk past the tavern. I assume something died and came back to life in the rafters. Other than that, several playthroughs of Streets Of Rage 4 are in the cards, checking in on my Animal Crossing village, doing whatever new challenges are in Pokémon Go, and going back to Murder By Numbers as I kinda lost track shortly after starting it. Graham has been fired. Dove back into GTA Online with some buds this week for the first time in years, so this weekend I kinda wanna see if I can join up with one of those alien squads Alice O keeps writing about. Ooh actually it could be fun to try and imitate these strange gang wars in Sea Of Thieves. Would that work? Is this content? God knows. Be fun to have a go though, sandbox games are the best. I only managed to play a teensy bit of In Other Waters last week, but I feel like I’m nearing its final stretches now, so I’m hoping to get that finished this weekend so I can sink well and truly into my next true love, Gears Tactics. Then again, with all this Assassin’s Creed Valhalla chat, I’m also tempted to try III or maybe Black Flag for the first time in preparation for some Viking sailing / homestead action. Whatever I end up doing, it will almost definitely be topped off by my daily dose of Animal Crossing. I’m finally going to play Gears Tactics, after booting it up several times this week then immediately closing it when I realised I didn’t have enough energy. Beware, Locusts, for I am rested. I’ll be mourning the loss of my fellow vid bud Alice, weeping over footage of a Divinity blood incarnate and pouring out a glass of Rio in her memory. Might cheer myself up with more Gears Tactics - I’m grinding away at the ‘veteran’ endgame, which is randomised missions to earn better loot. My soldiers are gods at this point, but man if it isn’t fun seeing single turns stretch into map-wide massacres. Nate is off this week. I’ve been bouncing between all sorts of different games testing out my wonderful new gaming rig. Of course, Plants Vs. Zombies isn’t really much of a test of said wonderful new gaming rig. But y’know. Any chance to go back to Plants Vs. Zombies. Sin is off this week.


title: “What Are We All Playing This Weekend " ShowToc: true date: “2022-12-18” author: “Jonathan Millican”


What are you playing this weekend? Or what did you play last weekend? Here’s what we’re clicking on! But you, dearest reader, what are you playing? Alice is away. Happy hols, Alice! This weekend I’ll be playing some Animal Crossing, Hitman 2, and Itta. I also need to do some IRL weeding, but unfortunately won’t make any money off of that like I will in Animal Crossing. Though Destiny 2’s latest event is another disappointment in a disappointing season, I do want to get its chunky minigun. You’ll find me grinding bounties for that, ugh. And I can’t remember why I didn’t finish Tales From Off-Peak City after its Humble Choice debut, but with the plain ol’ Steam launch coming up I’m reminded oh heck yes I adore Cosmo D’s games. Given that I have a little less time on my hands now – what with the whole recent gainful employment thing – I haven’t had the chance to enjoy as much government-sanctioned, daily outside time as I’d like. That’s why I spent far too much money on eBay and bought lockdown’s hottest item: Ring Fit Adventure. I’m bringing the outside to the inside! I’ve struggled with the going to the gym part of gym memberships before, so I’m looking forward to getting my money back when I flog it two weeks time. Until then, it’s crunching time… or whatever you do in the game. I think there’s a dragon in it for some reason. I’ve been putting plenty of time into XCOM: Chimera Squad and I have to say I’m enjoying it a fair bit. Did hit a major roadblock yesterday, which needed some Animal Crossing based therapy, but I’ve overall had a good time playing XCOM. Aside from that, there is a Pokémon Go Community Day that I will be doing, as well as probably some Predator-based shenanigans. What I want to play is Industries Of Titan, because sinking into a citybuilder - even one set on a failed, grime covered civilisation on another planet - is appealing. What I’ll probably end up playing instead is Spelunky, because I’ve fallen hard again for the daily, and once that’s done for the day you may as well do ten or fifteen runs in the regular mode, too. Venturing into the weird wild west on Saturday for the next session of a Deadlands tabletop adventure. Short of that, I might have another crack at Dark Souls 3. I’ve been watching a lot of Dark Souls speedruns recently and it’s given me the itch. I’ll be taking turns with a bunch of different games this weekend, starting with some XCOM: Chimera Squad before moving on to a bit of Predator: Hunting Grounds for some RPS multiplayer fun times. I also started In Other Waters last week, so I’ll hopefully be able to play a bit more of that as well in between watering my plants and digging up fossils in Animal Crossing. Will there be time for some Final Fantasy VII Remake as well? Probably! It’s not like I’ve got anything better to do. I’ll be betraying my friends in Project Winter, seen as there’s a free weekend on. Yes, we need to head outside and fix the generator. Just us two. Right now. It’s important. I’ve been churning through Gears Tactics this week, so will continue the strategic theme with some XCOM. (Ah, who am I kidding: it’ll probably be another weekend of mainlining old sitcoms on Now TV.) Nate has been fired. Despite being up to my eyeballs in Valorant right now, I’m still determined to carve out a little time this weekend to play some Industries Of Titan. I’ve been dying to try it since its announcement way back in 2017, and it’s pretty much entirely because I like the idea of going into buildings so you can place more buildings. iono. Might move from my swamp shack to a fledgling faction camp in Cataclysm. Or start a game of Jagged Alliance 2. I will definitely continue re-watching Rome, which is even better than I remember. Atia is wonderfully awful and Mark Antony could make me straight. Watch Rome.


title: “What Are We All Playing This Weekend " ShowToc: true date: “2022-12-22” author: “Carl Raymond”


And while RPS will officially be active all the way through Christmas Eve, half the staff are sacking it off early so this is a week of smaller Christmas goodbyes too. A few of us will still be around, mind. And I’ve heard the sound of cracker snaps in the treehouse so, god help us, I think Nate has been creating his own Christmas crackers with his own jokes. What are you playing this weekend? Here’s what we’re clicking on! But you, dearest reader, what are you playing? I cheated by booking next week off (although I have compensated by editing and scheduling about a million things, nbd) which means this weekend I’m free! I can play whatever I feel like playing! Wheeeeee! Unfortunately this probably means I’ll be sweeping up a bit of Cyberpunk 2077 even so. But, like, I don’t have to if I don’t want to. Cyberpunk 2077 is janked to heck, but I am so very happy running around the streets of Night City. This is the first iconsplattered open-world game where I’ve actually cleared many markers, because I’m forever running around seeing everything there is to see. I grew up on 1980s visions of our future, so it’s both nostalgic and weird to dive into something that’s - still - very much of that era. Consumables are pointless, I haven’t crafted a single thing in about 30 hours, a lot of the dialogue is jarring, I’m wearing the worst clothes imaginable and I’ve had a few missions bug out on me… but something is compelling me to play more Cyberpunk 2077. So, I guess it’s more jacking for me. It’s time to mop up Dishonored 2’s Death Of The Outsider DLC and pepper in some Hades runs if I’m feeling a bit burnt out from all the stealthing. Merry Chrimbo yall. I’ve more side quests I want to mop up in Cyberpunk 2077, but now I’ve finished the review I’m going to take it more slowly. I’ll probably also return to Hollow Knight, which I’m enjoying a lot so far. I’m currently playing both Cyberpunk and Stardew Valley, and the whiplash I’m experiencing jumping between edgelord world and peaceful farm sim is something else. I’ll likely try and get some Christmassy things in to break it all up - Valhalla has some festive events now, and my usual haunts of Apex and Overwatch have their winter brawls to get stuck into as well. I rolled credits on Cyberpunk earlier this week, so I’m probably gonna put it aside until some more patching is done. I’ve decided to finally play through Kentucky Route Zero, I expect it’ll be very good indeed. I’m going to have no access to Yakuza 0 this weekend. Devastating stuff, to be honest. The story is getting very exciting. Alas, instead I’ll probably revisit Hearthstone Battlegrounds and a bit of Baba Is You. It’s my last day before the holidays, so big thanks to you RPS gang - staff and readers - for being lovely and welcoming me into the team. I’m on holiday for the whole of Christmas now, so I suspect that most of my gaming time will be spent playing Grindstone on my Switch, which is just the best puzzle game of all time. I’ve also been itching to play the new Hyrule Warriors game as well (love a good Zelda musou), but as is always the way at Christmas, I’ll probably spend most of it reading and eating my weight in chocolate. Happy holidays folks! Nate has already scarpered. I’m off until the new year, so I’ve got a whole lot of time to play all sorts of different games that have slipped under my radar over the past year. Naturally, that time will pass in the blink of an eye, and I’ll probably only play one or two different games, as is my way. I think I’ll start with the latest Humankind OpenDev scenario that Amplitude have released. Played a bit last night, and it’s bloody good. Wonderful music, too.


title: “What Are We All Playing This Weekend " ShowToc: true date: “2023-01-07” author: “Joseph Gray”


What are you playing this weekend? Here’s what we’re clicking on! But you, dearest reader, what are you playing? Put me down for the cyberpunk nonsense, just like almost everyone else probably is. (It’s not an RPG, they were lying). After a few late nights dealing with the Cyberpunk launch then The Game Awards, I’m planning: 1) Sleep; 2) Not being in my flat. But I’ve put off bike maintenance for a while, always thinking I can squeeze one more journey out before it needs the routine cleaning, oiling, and tightening, and really should address that now. I have enjoyed working on something tangible this year. Yep, I’m playing Cyberpunk 2077, too. I’m still in the very early stages, so I’m waiting for it to really grab me, but there’s a chance it will. Although, I have to mention that I’ve been amazed at the amount of techno future bullshit these characters have spouted in the first few hours. Maybe I wasn’t paying enough attention to the marketing, but I genuinely thought people were just taking the piss when they were talking about “jacking in.” I am going to be totally unoriginal this weekend and spend a bit of time with Cyberpunk 2077, I’m thinking of going down the Nomad route because the desert looks nice. Otherwise, more of the usual: a bit of Cod Blops Cow and maybe some Yakuza LAD. I’ve cronked a spongshaft into the morrow game, so I can telnet some thunks onto the dark net. Here’s the skips: it’s better than I expected, though I didn’t expect much. Cyberpunk 2077, probably. I’ve played it for a few hours, can’t decide if I like it or not yet. Though I’m now in that awkward position where I’m playing two mahoosive RPGs (Valhalla being the other one) and I’m losing the motivation to play either of them. It’s just soooo much. Might just play Valorant instead, tbh. I’ve got a lot of Cyberpunk 2077 to get through, though mercifully I’ve heard it’s not as long as The Witcher games. Star Wars Squadrons will be there for me when I need a break. I picked it up on sale last weekend and it’s a real good time. This weekend, it’s a Yakuza 0 weekend for real. Everyone else is on that Cyberpunk wave, but for me, I’ll be hanging out with my guy Kiryu and performing good deeds around Kamurocho whilst brutalising baddies with his ludicrous fists. It’ll be the perfect game to play while I wait for my sourdough to rise. It’s the Cyberpunk life for me! Like Alice Bee, I decided to go for a Corpo V lifepath, although so far I’ve only been able to spend about 15 minutes being a corporate scumbag before the game forced me into becoming just a regular merc. Will selling my corpo soul to the game’s big suits come back to bite me in the ass later on, perhaps? Only time will tell. Before the year ends, I’m going to have a scurry around Steam looking for games I wanted to play and never got round. to. And then I’ll probably play Age Of Empires 2: The Age Of Kings anyway. It’s the only game I could face playing while I was off; it heals me. “Wake the fuck up, Samurai. We’ve got another hundred or so bugs to discover.”


title: “What Are We All Playing This Weekend " ShowToc: true date: “2023-02-03” author: “Edward Zick”


We’re now well into the RPS Advent Calendar for 2020, as well, though you can still have a gander at the Advent Calendar Guessing Game on the forums. What are you playing this weekend? Here’s what we’re clicking on! But you, dearest reader, what are you playing? Still on the quest for the ice cave you can shag in that is a part of The Sims 4 Snowy Escape. Finding it is a surprisingly laborious process. Alice is away and is probably in the sea. While there’s no question that I should be using this pre-Cyberpunk time to catch up on some of the big games I didn’t get around to playing earlier in the year, I’ve really been enjoying this cute little stealth game called El Hijo - A Wild West Tale. You play as a six-year-old Agent 47 that uses a slingshot instead of silenced pistols. I’ll probably be continuing on with its good, wholesome fun, this weekend. A nice and breezy game before I become an angry cyberman in Night City. Geralt and I will be going on more merry adventures in The Witcher 3: Blood And Wine. I’m also thinking of popping back on Resident Evil 7: Biohazard and finally conquering this bit of the house that’s infested with horrible flies. I tried to play Immortals Fenyx Rising during the week, only to discover that I had failed to download it in advance. I bought a modern translation of the Odyssey that night instead, but I’m going to return this weekend to trying to experience some Greek myths in videogame form. Books don’t have tall things I can climb and jump off. Jumping into Valhalla again this weekend. I’m still not that far in and beginning to think I may never complete it. My personal endgame is just to make it to where my hometown would be. Short of that I’ll probably play some of Apex Legends’ brill winter mode, and I have plans for some festive Phasmophobia, too. Jake is away and is probably dying his hair a new colour. James is away and is probably making a cake of some kind. Katharine is away and is probably being sat on by a cat. Nate is away and is probably doing something to a fishtank. Immortals Fenyx Rising is exactly what I’ve needed this past year. I’ve already completed the game twice for guides purposes, so this time I think I’ll start a Nightmare playthrough and 100% the game. If I have a superpower, it is the superhuman ability to play a game I love for so long that I end up hating it by the time I move onto the next game.


title: “What Are We All Playing This Weekend " ShowToc: true date: “2022-12-29” author: “Christopher Lawyer”


On Tuesday we’ll start opening the RPS Advent Calendar to reveal our favourite games of the year. Do you think you have a handle on what we’ve liked? Join the Advent Calendar Guessing Game on the forums. What are you playing this weekend? Here’s what we’re clicking on! But you, dearest reader, what are you playing? Now that the post launch patches have fixed the usual influx of bugs that broke the game, I’m going to spend some time properly exploring The Sims 4 Snowy Escape, the latest expansion that lets you go skiing and hiking and climb a mountain and that. None of these things are stuff I would do in real life, but isn’t that what games are for?? I want to see more of the games I know people are voting for on the RPS Advent Calendar so I’ll be playing… ah, I shouldn’t say while Guessing Game entries are still open. I’m going to go back to Tony Hawk’s Pro Skater 1+2, I think. When I was putting my goty of the year list together, I remembered just how good that game is. There’s nothing for it but to play more Blops, Warzone, and the like. I’m almost tempted to dive back into The Witcher 3, having ditched it once I’d reached the Blood And Wine DLC which everyone raves about. Not that I disliked it or anything, I just needed a break you know? The relentless grey weather this week is getting me down, so I’m looking to spend the weekend wrapped in as many blankets as possible. That calls for some comfort gaming, and I think I’m going to try to sink into Chinese management sim Amazing Cultivation Simulator. People keep saying it’s amazing, fittingly, and it just got an English language patch. I’ll be taking another dive into Assassin’s Creed Valhalla this weekend. I gotta say, I really like the climbing. This is my first AssCreed game so I imagine the others are similar, but man, it’s so much better than the climbing in stuff like Horizon Zero Dawn and Uncharted. Jake is away. It’s been a long ol’ week, right? Not just me? I’m going to be going outside and rollerblading, and when I get back indoors it’ll be curling up in bed for me. Maybe a smidgen of Warzone too - it’s nearly time for Cold War to be implemented so I gotta get back in practice. I am (finally) taking some holiday next week (thank you, deals gods), so I will likely be spending it plonked directly in front of our TV with either Assassin’s Creed Valhalla or ripping and tearing through Doom Eternal. Nate is away. I took a small break from Apex Legends so that I could sink dozens of hours into a certain open-world adventure game coming out next week… But last night I returned to Apex and had some of the best games I can remember. Non-stop action, surviving against all odds. My god, this game is marvellous.


title: “What Are We All Playing This Weekend " ShowToc: true date: “2022-12-31” author: “Carol Huddle”


More urgently, what are you playing this weekend? Here’s what we’re clicking on! But you, dearest reader, what are you playing? Alice is off. Alice is off. Before getting wrapped up in the definitely ridiculously long Cyberpunk 2077, I’m going to catch up on some of the smaller games I’ve missed over the last few weeks, like The Pathless. It seems like a nice and relaxed way to spend a few hours this weekend. To the surprise of absolutely no-one, I’m going to spend more time with my beloved Yakuza LAD. Mincing zombies in Call Of Duty Blops Cow is proving an excellent pastime as well, so I will continue honing my craft there. With Black Friday sprinting at full speed straight at me, I’m feeling under pressure to finally part with lots of money and get a new laptop. I can feel my wallet vibrating with fear as I type this. I spent the past week playing The Pathless, which is an unremarkable but thoroughly pleasant game. I’m likely going to play Assassin’s Creed Valhalla next. I’ve never liked an Assassin’s Creed before, and I haven’t played any of the last 3 (4?) entries in the series. The promise of stomping around with a big axe is enough to draw me back in. I said I didn’t want a PS5 because there aren’t enough games on it right now for me to justify it… However, my partner now has a PS5 and conveniently we live in the same house. So, we’ll be getting all nostalgic blasting through Astro’s Playroom this weekend (which is amazing, btw). I also started a new Stardew Valley farm with my pals, so not completely ditching the PC just yet. My PS5 arrived yesterday so I’m mostly going to be trying out Demon’s Souls. I never played the original, but after loving Sekiro and Bloodborne so much I’m eager to see how this remake lands. I’m going to give Bugsnax a try too, which should hopefully offer some nice respite to the crushing brutality of Demon’s Souls. This weekend, I’m going to be making more jam. Been getting really into it recently, and I’ll be giving apricot a go. Besides that, my days will blur into one big ol’ Call of Duty Cold War sesh. It just keeps pulling me back. Despite my plans to go raiding in Assassin’s Creed Valhalla last weekend, I ended up getting suckered into Desperados III instead - and I have never fallen in love with a game so hard. It might take me two hours to do a single mission, but it scratches the very same silent, unseen assassin itch I had playing Dishonored 2, and I simply can’t get enough of it. Nate is off. I’m still neck-deep in Apex Legends. I’m winning around one in six matches at the moment, which I think is pretty great. Doesn’t take the sting out of the other five matches, which is why I want to get better and better at the game until I start to win 100% of my matches. Which is of course impossible, so I guess I’m consigning myself to a lifetime of unhappiness. Maybe I should rethink some things.


title: “What Are We All Playing This Weekend " ShowToc: true date: “2023-01-15” author: “Antonio Higginbotham”


What are you playing this weekend? Here’s what we’re clicking on! But you, dearest reader, what are you playing? I’m using the very last dregs of my holiday to give myself a long weekend, so I’m going to have a go of Godfall, to see if I still like ARPGs. Also Colm is raving about Fuser, so I’m going to get my earholes around that and see if I have the makings of an amazing DJ. I’m off work next week, which I swear isn’t so I can grind up to level in preparation for Destiny 2: Beyond Light’s raid opening next weekend (though I will be gunning for the raid!). My other plans for the weekend and my week off are plenty of the three S’s: swimming, sleeping, and cycling. Now that’s a triathlon I’d go for. If you have fond memories of underrated plastic peripheral game DJ Hero, or you’re just quite fond of a well-done mash-up, then you must give Fuser a go. I’ve been playing it over the last few nights and I’ve been enjoying it as much as I did MUSIC (the old PS1 game that allowed you mess with samples) over 20 years ago. I’m nowhere near done hanging out with my pals in Yakuza: Like A Dragon, so I’ll be knocking around Yokohama with them for a bit. I also like some shooty bang bang, and Call Of Duty: Blops Cow will fit the bill nicely. Otherwise, I’ve got this big batch of bolognaise to finish off - thrilling, I know. Who could possibly decide? I’ve got Yakuza: Like A Dragon installed. I’m getting some FOMO from Assassin’s Creed: Valhalla. I suspect The Pathless is worth a visit given how much I liked Abzu. And I’ll definitely be keeping up with the Spelunky 2 daily and ongoing attempts to complete its secret ending. So many new games are out now! And yet all this week I have been playing Skyrim on my Nintendo Switch because I am The Worst. This weekend I will force myself to buy and play AssHalla because I really want to be a murder Viking. I’ve really been loving Assassin’s Creed Valhalla, so I’ll mostly be tackling more of that this weekend. There’s a surprising amount of affection for old AC in Valhalla, it’s nice to have something that feels like a proper Assassin’s game again. I’m just hoping it’s not as long as Odyssey. This weekend, I’ll be playing a whole lot of Ronald Reagan Simulator 2020. Both Ollie and myself will be guiding it pretty intensely, so there’s a lot of shooty shooty to be done. Maybe I’ll treat myself to some Bugsnax in my downtime. I will be doing some more raiding in Assassin’s Creed Valhalla this weekend. I’m disappointed the photo mode does let Eivor pull silly faces or do daft poses, but hey, we can’t all be as good as Death Stranding, can we? It’s mostly an analogue weekend for me this time around. However, I’ve just come across Project Highrise, a management/building game I’ve not come across somehow, despite it looking like the spiritual successor to Sim Tower, and that seems like it might be a lot of fun. So I’ll probably give that a go! This weekend I will be trying my very best to split my time equally between Apex Legends, which I adore, and Call Of Duty: Cold War, which I am obligated to master for guides purposes. I’ve never liked playing multiple FPS games at once, but I refuse to stop playing Apex. Apex is love. Apex is life.


title: “What Are We All Playing This Weekend " ShowToc: true date: “2023-01-18” author: “Viola Woods”


What are you playing this weekend? Here’s what we’re clicking on! But you, dearest reader, what are you playing? This weekend I will mostly be playing Sudoku and sleeping. The lads who do that nice Cracking The Cryptic YouTube channel have several Sudoku games and they are all very good (I am very bad at them, though). With Destiny 2’s new expansion out next week, this weekend I definitely will make time to beat the Prophecy dungeon solo flawless before Bungie remove the armour mods which help a huge amount. I’ve got a whole lot of crimes to perfect in Teardown too. Or the weather will stay good and I’ll sack it all off for long bike rides. Yakuza: Like A Dragon, obviously. And – cheap plug time – you’ll get to watch me play it every week as part of LollaYakuza. Melodrama and karaoke awaits! I will continue to thwack thugs in Yakuza: Like A Dragon, maybe mutter some of its karaoke bangers to myself as well. Then I will likely watch some Gogglebox and go to sleep. I’m going to continue wrecking my way across Teardown, a game in which everything is smashable. I’ve reached a point where the optional objects are getting much harder and perhaps beginning to test my patience, but hey, they’re optional so who cares. Also, breaking stuff is fun enough that I could happily just do it on the same level over and over even if I did get totally stuck. A good game. I’m currently in the rubbish stage of moving house where I have no internet, so I’m very sad I won’t be able to play Apex Legends’ new season this weekend. Little offline games like Monster Train and Hades will have to keep me going for now. That, and the only two DVDs I own played on repeat. I’ll mostly be playing a super secret AAA game that I am absolutely not allowed to talk about. I just started playing Among Us too, continuing my knack for being late to every hot new gaming trend that happens. I’m bloody rubbish at being the imposter, so I’ll be practising my venting and sabotage skills this weekend. I’ve treated myself to a four-day weekend! I can’t leave the house! I’m therefore going to make a butternut squash tarte tatin and play absolutely loads of Warzone. I’ve also been meaning to get back into the Yakuza series after seeing what Ed’s had to say about Like A Dragon, so maybe restarting Yakuza 0 is the move. Having completed the superb Paradise Killer last weekend, my quest to mop up this year’s best games continues. I’m determined to play through some more Doom Eternal, but I’ll need to steal Matthew’s Steam account to do it because my Stadia version’s just too slow and laggy to do it properly. If I can’t persuade him to part ways with it, I’ll probably try my hand at some Gears Tactics. Oh crikey, what will I play? It’s been a week. I think it’s gonna have to be the big, warm, comfortable blanket of medieval slaughter for me with… yep, you guessed it, AoE2. Dunno though, this could be a weekend to try something new and surprise myself. What if this is the time to try a Yakuza at long last? I suppose I may be able to tear myself away from Apex Legends long enough to try out that new Zachtronics non-Zach-like, Möbius Front ‘83. I’m very intrigued by what I’ve seen of it so far, though I’m afraid I’ll compare it too much with the near-perfect Into The Breach, which might spoil my time with it. We shall see.


title: “What Are We All Playing This Weekend " ShowToc: true date: “2023-01-07” author: “Sharon Rawlings”


What are you playing this weekend? Here’s what we’re clicking on! But you, dearest reader, what are you playing? For spooky weekend I have the witches of Little Hope to keep me company. I also have fuzzy socks and plans to watch Lost Boys. Who says a Halloween where you stay indoors can’t be fun? I’m up to Covenant rank 24 in Monster Train, so close to beating these final gittish difficulty levels. Then I just need to beat the C25 challenges. Then I’m done, I swear. Aside from mods, obvs. Colm is a disgrace! Graham is away! Imogen is away! After repeated attempts, Doom Eternal on Stadia is just no good, so I’m back on the Paradise Killer train this weekend. I think I’m making good progress, but I keep getting distracted by the excellent soundtrack. It really is the sound of summer. I can’t believe I’m saying it, but I’m going to be glued to Watch Dogs: Legion this weekend. I was really not keen on it when I first picked it up last week, but playing it for review really made me warm to it, and after mucking around in it for a couple of days since to do follow-up posts, I’ve found a genuine affection for it. Roll out the bloody barrel. I’ve jumped back into Apex Legends in the leadup to Season 7 and the game’s release on Steam. Things have changed quite a bit since I last played, but overwhelmingly for the better. I love how the trend has moved in the direction of making Legend abilities stronger, so there’s actually a reason to use most of them in combat now. Man, I forgot how much I loved this game.